New Florida Majority has a new organization and home on the web! Visit Florida Rising.

New Florida Majority Endorses the Biden-Harris Ticket for President and Vice-President Ahead of General Election

New Florida Majority Also Endorses Eight Local Progressive Leaders to Fight for Black and Brown Communities

Miami, Florida — Today, New Florida Majority (NewFM), a 501(c)(4) racial justice organization dedicated to expanding democracy and restoring justice, enthusiastically endorsed the Biden-Harris ticket for President and Vice-President, and announced support of a group of eight progressive candidates running for office in Florida. NewFM Executive Director Andrea Mercado issued the following statement regarding the endorsements: 

“Our members and Board of Directors are proud to announce that New Florida Majority is endorsing Joe Biden, Kamala Harris and many local champions for the November 3, 2020 General Election – all of whom are committed to advancing democracy and racial equity in Florida. Our endorsees are reflections of our community, diverse in every way and committed to structural change. NewFM has determined that, if elected, the following candidates would effectively champion policies that promote equity, opportunity, justice and liberation for our communities.”

NewFM is proud to endorse Joe Biden and Kamala Harris and the following local candidates:

Donna Deegan – Congressional District 4

Javier Fernandez – Florida Senate District 39

Omari Hardy – Florida House District 88

Pam Keith – Congressional District 18

Gepsie Metellus – Miami-Dade County Commission District 3

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell – Congressional District 26

Harold Pryor – Broward State Attorney

Tammyette Thomas – Florida House District 15

“We are fortunate to have a sizeable slate of phenomenal candidates up and down the ballot for this year’s elections. Our work is driven by Black and Brown communities and our decision to endorse these strong, prospective candidates is rooted in the dreams and demands of our most marginalized communities. We believe these candidates are ready and eager to use their political power to take us from Florida where we are to the Florida we most want to see. We are excited about the work ahead,” said NewFM Political Director Dwight Bullard.

These new endorsements are in addition to affirming seven previously endorsed candidates including Daniella Levine Cava (Miami-Dade County Mayor), Nicole Hamm (Jacksonville City Council 4), Eileen Higgins (Miami-Dade County Commission District 5), Shevrin Jones (SD 35), Nancy Metayer (Coral Springs Commission Seat 3), Rep. Cindy Polo (HD 103) and Sen. Jose Javier Rodriguez (SD 37).

As voter turnout in the 2020 Florida primaries exceeded 2016 despite the worst pandemic in a lifetime and persistent attempts to suppress voters, community leaders from the Florida for All Coalition celebrated the victory of 43 of their endorsed candidates after making more than 4 million calls to voters in the largest independent electoral campaign in the state of Florida.

The Florida for All Coalition includes New Florida Majority, Dream Defenders Action, FLIC Votes, Florida Planned Parenthood PAC (state and local candidates and races only), Organize Florida, and Service Employees International Union Florida, and is part of the national Win Justice program. 

Las fechas importantes clave en el próximo ciclo electoral incluyen: 

General Election Early Voting: October 24 – 31
General Election Day: November 3