New Florida Majority has a new organization and home on the web! Visit Florida Rising.


New Florida Majority Endorses Six More Progressive Leaders Ahead of 2020 Primary Elections

New Florida Majority Endorses Six More Progressive Leaders Ahead of 2020 Primary Elections

Miami, Florida—Today, New Florida Majority (NewFM), a 501(c)(4) racial justice organization dedicated to expanding democracy and restoring justice, enthusiastically announced support of a group of six progressive candidates running for office in Florida. NewFM Executive Director Andrea Mercado issued the following statement regarding the endorsements: 

“Our members and Board of Directors are proud to announce that New Florida Majority is endorsing champions that put people first and are committed to advancing democracy and racial equity in Florida. Politics in Florida has been under Republican control for decades, overturning the right-wing control of state and local government is essential to gaining governing power for people instead of corporations. Our endorsed candidates reflect NewFM’s core values to move the Sunshine State onto the path of equity and justice for all people and not just a small band of well-connected elites.”

NewFM’s newly endorsed candidates are:

Shevrin Jones (SD 35)
Angie Nixon (HD 14)
Jasmen Rogers-Shaw (HD 95)
Daniella Levine-Cava (Miami-Dade County Mayor)
Kelli Ann Thomas (Miami-Dade County Community Council 14: Sub Area 144)
Joe Kimok (Broward County State Attorney)

“NewFM was happy to endorse many of our legislative champions in 2019. As we approach one of the most important elections of our lifetime, we recognize the need to elect bold and passionate leaders to offices at the local and state level. Our endorsees are reflections of our community, diverse in every way and committed to structural change.” said NewFM Political Director Dwight Bullard.

These new endorsements are in addition to affirming six previously endorsed candidates including Tracie Davis (HD 13), Cindy Polo (HD 103), Dotie Joseph (HD 108), Jose javier rodriguez (SD 37), Eileen Higgins (Miami-Dade County Commission District 5), and Nancy Metayer (Coral Springs Commission Seat 3).

Las fechas importantes clave en el próximo ciclo electoral incluyen: 

Primary Election Early Voting: August 3 – 16
Primary Election Day: August 18
General Election Early Voting: October 24 – 31
General Election Day: November 3

Done a la nueva mayoría de Florida

En los últimos años, nuestros partidarios nos han ayudado a enfrentarnos al establecimiento político y reclamar nuestra democracia: expandir el registro de votantes tras el huracán Matthew, aumentar los salarios de los trabajadores de Miami, registrar decenas de miles de nuevos votantes en negro y comunidades marrones, y cambiando el equilibrio de poder en el estado del sol para siempre.

Eventos comunitarios